Wake

Thought I’d give it a try, Daily Prompt:  Symptom here it goes:

We laughed. We cuddled. I softened deep into his embrace. His smell…My God his smell. It was an ecstasy. When we were together I felt whole. I felt like I belonged.

I smiled. We talked. I shared my darkest secrets. He was still there.  He still loved me.

I dreamed. They were big too.  The clouds spread all around me. The words easily fell on paper. I was successful.

I awakened. To a nightmare. Red on all the walls. Tears and mascara on my face. Chaos around me. Men and women in white surrounding me.

I screamed. I told them to take me back, to him. To my life. It would fade if I didn’t get back.

They placed an IV. A liquid entered my veins. My euphoria dissipated.

I cried. Reality returned. It was all imagined they said. A symptom.

 

Leave a Reply

